Design Communication

Stacked Typography

This week in my design communication class, I was exploring stacked typography. I created a mood board and explored different font families, letterforms and block type. Below is my inspiration for stacked type!

kcarpintieri_mood boardskcarpintieri_mood boards2

Stacked Type Mood Boards

The next step I took to explore stacked type; was to visit restaurants and research the different menu layouts. I learned that not all menu designs are great!

Here are some of the menu layouts I found most appealing!

Menu Layouts

I also began practicing creating my own stacked type designs. I found using different fonts and different sizes of fonts is very helpful and creative. Also, using banners, dots, and other 19th century embellishments enhance the design.

Stay tuned for my menu design process with stacked typography! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

